It’s a Spring split!

Apologies for the lateness of this update. This month it’s mostly split between Shtum by Jem Lester, Number 11 by Jonathan Coe and The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild, however bringing up the rear is SPQR: A History of Ancient Rome by Mary Beard. No need for an alternative list this month.

Any reserved titles have been put aside but if you couldn’t make it, let Leilah know if you’d like order a copy of any book. Tell the Waterstones Doncaster staff member that you’re with the book club, and they should know to take off the extra pound, disclaimer.

No meeting in May as the next one will be on Wednesday 1st June, 5.20pm for 5.45pm.


Shtum, Jem Lester

Shtum by Jem Lester

A must-read for fans of David Nicholls, THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME.

Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son, Jonah, has never spoken. So when Ben and Jonah are forced to move in with Ben’s elderly father, three generations of men – one who can’t talk; two who won’t – are thrown together.

As Ben battles single fatherhood, a string of well-meaning social workers and his own demons, he learns some difficult home truths. Jonah, blissful in his ignorance, becomes the prism through which all the complicated strands of personal identity, family history and misunderstanding are finally untangled.

Funny and heart-breaking in equal measure, Shtum is a story about families, forgiveness and finding a light in the darkest days.

Published: 07/04/2016

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co

ISBN: 9781409166511


Number 11, Jonathan Coe

Number 11 by Jonathan Coe

A novel about the hundreds of tiny connections between the public and private worlds and how they affect us all.

It’s about the legacy of war and the end of innocence. It’s about how comedy and politics are battling it out and comedy might have won. It’s about how 140 characters can make fools of us all. It’s about living in a city where bankers need cinemas in their basements and others need food banks down the street.

It is Jonathan Coe doing what he does best — showing us how we live now.

Published: 07/04/2016

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd

ISBN: 9780241967010


The Improbability of Love, Hannah Rothschild

The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2016 SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOLLINGER EVERYMAN WODEHOUSE PRIZE 2016

When lovelorn Annie McDee stumbles across a dirty painting in a junk shop while looking for a present for an unsuitable man, she has no idea what she has discovered.

Soon she finds herself drawn unwillingly into the tumultuous London art world, populated by exiled Russian oligarchs, avaricious Sheikas, desperate auctioneers and unscrupulous dealers, all scheming to get their hands on her painting – a lost eighteenth-century masterpiece called ‘The Improbability of Love’.

Delving into the painting’s past, Annie will uncover not just an illustrious list of former owners, but some of the darkest secrets of European history – and in doing so she might just learn to open up to the possibility of falling in love again.

Published: 31/03/2016

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

ISBN: 9781408862476


SPQR: A History of Ancient Rome, Mary Beard

SPQR: A History of Ancient Rome by Mary Beard

Ancient Rome matters.

Its history of empire, conquest, cruelty and excess is something against which we still judge ourselves. Its myths and stories – from Romulus and Remus to the Rape of Lucretia – still strike a chord with us. And its debates about citizenship, security and the rights of the individual still influence our own debates on civil liberty today.

SPQR is a new look at Roman history from one of the world’s foremost classicists. It explores not only how Rome grew from an insignificant village in central Italy to a power that controlled territory from Spain to Syria, but also how the Romans thought about themselves and their achievements, and why they are still important to us.

Covering 1,000 years of history, and casting fresh light on the basics of Roman culture from slavery to running water, as well as exploring democracy, migration, religious controversy, social mobility and exploitation in the larger context of the empire, this is a definitive history of ancient Rome.

SPQR is the Romans’ own abbreviation for their state: Senatus Populusque Romanus, ‘the Senate and People of Rome’.

Published: 01/04/2016

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd

ISBN: 9781846683817