Great British Book Off!

Prepare yourselves for the ‘Great British Book Off’!

Because the two suggestions for the next meet-up were so starkly different and the group was polarised, we’ve decided to let you pick one of 2 titles this time around!

We’ve got Jessica Thompson’s Three Little Words (£5.99 for book clubbers) or Hannah Kent’s Burial Rites (£9.99) for the next discussion.

We’ll be meeting on Monday 23rd of September at 5.30pm, Costa Coffee, Upper Mall Frenchgate Centre and look forward to seeing you all there.

Genre fiction has been mooted for the next choice, so Leilah is going to have a look out for some crime, sci-fi or fantasy for next time. So please let her know about anything that catches your attention!

If you’d like to buy it from Waterstones Doncaster, you can let Leilah know and they’ll order it in for you. Book club members are entitled to £1 off, disclaimer.

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Burial RitesBook details

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2013 GUARDIAN FIRST BOOK AWARD. In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnusdottir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover. Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jon Jonsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Toti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes’s spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes’s story begins to emerge and with it the family’s terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed. Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we’re told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland’s formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others? Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

Published: 29/08/2013

Publisher: Picador

ISBN: 9781447233169

Three Little Words by Jessica Thompson

Three Little WordsBook details

Jessica Thompson’s first book This is a Love Story was described by Closer as ‘Reminiscent of One Day.’ This second novel will make you laugh, it will make you cry, and it will keep you turning the page. They are just words but they mean so much. As a dark evening draws in, the lives of three women are changed forever. The worlds they have been living in, the people they thought they knew – in an instant it all changes. But when everything seems to shatter around them, could three little words be enough to help put the pieces back together again? Jessica Thompson’s debut novel, This is a Love Story, received brilliant reviews on publication: ‘Thompson’s first novel is a triumph…What I really enjoyed was the way Thompson conveys the whole world of young, single London, the clothes, the music, the furnishings and the central, abiding love of the great city itself, full of excitement and potential. Infectious.’ Daily Mail ‘Reminiscent of One Day, this moving, quirky love story is sob-inducingly romantic.’ 4* Closer

Published: 15/08/2013

Publisher: Coronet Books

ISBN: 9781444734232

Advertisements